Crankshaft connection bolt

Anthony Woolhead

Crankshaft connection bolt

Postby Anthony Woolhead » Sat Nov 09, 2019 12:36 pm

I don't know what's happened to my last post, I can't find it so here goes again. Thanks for all your replies about crankshaft nearside bolt. I solved the problem by making a strap spanner from a length of 1" x 1" oak ( yes you've guessed it, I am a retired carpenter/builder) with a length of webbing taken from the harness of an old strimmer, screwed and washered to one side. It worked perfectly.
After quite a struggle with the crankcase sides, which I removed with a homemade extractor, I have come to the final obstacle, the hexagon socket bolt inside the crankshaft. I have the allen key fitted with a long lever on the short end. To stop the crankshaft from turning I have passed a rod through the small end resting on the crankcase sides with (you've guessed it) two oak packings to protect it.
I have put enormous pressure on the lever and can feel the key flexing but it won't budge. Any suggestions please?

Tony

JohnnyBeckett
Holder of a Golden Anorak
Holder of a Golden Anorak

Re: Crankshaft connection bolt

Postby JohnnyBeckett » Sat Nov 09, 2019 2:30 pm

use a impact gun or rattle gun to undo the nut i do it all time it saves time messing about trying to undo nuts or bolts sometimes you can just hold the part you are undoing the gun does all the work i know a lot says do not use one i use them all day long if did not i would not get half my jobs done it make life a lot easier

bh.sprint
Holder of a Waxed Cotton Anorak

Postby bh.sprint » Sun Nov 10, 2019 12:12 am

Hi,

The bolt is torqued to 60 ft/lb and may have been done higher so will need some force to undo it.

Also is the flexing just in the allen key or is the flywheel assembly also flexing either on the oak blocks( I know its oak but it may still compress slightly ) or is the unsupported shaft bending a bit ?