LH250 Twin Spark

Singles, twins and fours.
andy.mcgregor

LH250 Twin Spark

Postby andy.mcgregor » Wed May 23, 2012 11:05 am

I'm new to Ariels and have just bought a spAriel project - a pile of bits which I'm hoping to bring together to turn into a pre-war Red Hunter. I've started stripping the engine down but I'm a little confused by what I've found so far.

The engine is from a 1934 LH250, and the head looks like the pictures I've seen of that engine, with the remains of the clips for the valve spring covers.
But it is fitted with two 18mm spark plugs and from what I can tell that's not standard. Can anyone suggest why that would be? Race engine? Would it have been an either/or plug set up or would both have been firing at the same time?

A number of the fins have broken off and there are the remains of a stud tapped through into the top of the combustion chamber. I originally though this was just to fix on one of the broken fins, but it appears to have a hole right through the centre - some kind of sensor mounting?

Both head and barrel will need some work, but the bottom end seems to be in good condition. I think I'll probably start by rebuilding it as is, but I'm a bit concerned that the 250 will feel under-powered.
What would need to be changed to turn it into a 350 or a 500. Cylinder, piston and head but anything else?

Andy

john.whiting
Holder of a Golden Anorak

Postby john.whiting » Wed May 23, 2012 1:30 pm

People often experimented with old bikes in the days when they were worthless,its lucky to have survived.You could fit either a 350 or 500 motor, if you can find one thats period correct,ie 37 or earlier.The primary drive is a bit different ,nothing insurmountable.The frames have the same appearance,but the 250 probably had lighter tube.Your best bet would be a later 350 motor,as being easiest to find and fix.Regards John.

brenton.roy

Postby brenton.roy » Wed May 23, 2012 2:01 pm