Sleepless Night

Bikes or not. Whatever
david.anderson
Holder of a Golden Anorak

Sleepless Night

Postby david.anderson » Tue Dec 31, 2019 8:10 am

My current home in Meroo Meadow (near Nowra) is now for sale and I am currently building in Bodalla. I have almost finished a large garage/shed that incorporates a bed sitter flat at the rear that I intend to live in while I build my new house. I have been building every weekend for the last 18 months and have nearly finished. I have insured but the value related to partial completion and is now only 66% of what I have spent. I have spent the Christmas new year break painting and received word yesterday that my current home may come under attack from bushfire on 1/1/20 so I returned home that evening, 30/12/19.
There has been a large fire (known as the Currowan fire) burning between Nowra and Bodalla for over a month and it has been slowly spreading. At times the Princes Hwy has been cut due to the fire and on one occasion I had to make the journey from Bodalla to Nowra via Bega and Cooma due to the Princes highway being closed. That was an 8 hour trip whereas the trip normally takes me 2.15 hours.