TT carb on 500 single

Anything about Ariels
robert.clark

TT carb on 500 single

Postby robert.clark » Sun Sep 15, 2013 6:56 pm

Hi out there,
I have seen a number of articles on carb wear recently and would like to sound you out before making any changes. I have covered about 4000 miles with the TT carb fitted with new parts, having a good set up and no issues. On petrol.
Slowly but surely over the last say 500+ miles I have noticed the engine overrun at tick over together with some fuel leakage from the body of the carb (mid way up forward facing).
1st - I have made adjustments to the adjustable needle control and this did not change the overrun.
2nd - I removed the carb completely gave a thorough clean and passageways etc and fitted with new joints. no difference.
3rd - I checked the float bowl and parts and everything appeared as it should be.
I have no previous experience of this occurring before - is it possible that this is simply a symptom of wear between the needle and the needle jet and lowering the needle by one notch is the answer.
Actually that's my next step but someone may be able support the theory or any other suggestions.
Rob Clark
54 Square Four, 1934 RH500 twin port, 1936 RH500 single port, 1945 RH500 (1936 ) twin port, 1947 VB Buttermilk.

nevhunter
Holder of a Golden Anorak

Postby nevhunter » Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:08 am

Can you check the fuel level in the float bowl?. I always do this first. Nev

adrie.degraaff

Re: TT carb on 500 single

Postby adrie.degraaff » Mon Sep 16, 2013 8:53 am

The level must be center airscrew.
It sounds like the floote needle is worn but you have a new one in?

The centerfeed TT is better than the sidefeed.

robert.clark

Postby robert.clark » Mon Sep 16, 2013 5:10 pm

Thanks for the reply. Float bowl - OK it's a bottom feed and what you suggest I have considered. And I can't be sure if the needle was a new item.